Seeds of Hope

ljp_seedcatalogsI couldn’t believe it when we were socked by about a foot of snow last week! Just when I was finally up for ordering seeds and getting ready for this year’s garden – splat!

But Sunday the temperatures soared to nearly early summer averages, and the last of the snow melted away. Time at last to get down to business and order some seeds.

March isn’t too early to start cool season veggies. In USDA zones 6-7, St. Patrick’s Day is the traditional day to plant your peas. Other crops to sow outside around now are carrots, turnips, lettuce and other greens. March is also the time to start your tomatoes and peppers indoors.

So if, like me, you haven’t yet ordered your seeds, do so ASAP! To help get you on your way, here are a few of my favorite seed sources:

Pinetree is great for limited space gardeners, since their seed packs are small and inexpensive. The Cook’s Garden catalog includes lots of yummy recipes, as well as nice seed offerings. Each of the sources above has a wide variety of vegetable, herb and flower seed, from wonderful old heirlooms to this year’s latest new selections.

So what are you waiting for? Get your seeds now – I know I will.

One response to “Seeds of Hope

  1. That picture of the seed catalog inspired me. I have been traveling and have had no opportunity to start my garden seed ordering. All of my gardening has been in my day dreams so far but I am looking forward to planting my peas!

Leave a Reply

