Scent of Roses in the Air

It’s the end of spring here in the Northern Hemisphere, and the scent of roses is filling the air.

Look to the blowing Rose about us–“Lo,
Laughing,” she says, “into the world I blow…”

The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam

The wild roses started blooming down my way last weekend. And today a wonderful scent is wafting from my garden: one of the buds on the Abraham Darby has begun opening for real. (And once I figure out how to get the image uploader here to like me, I’ll show you.)

Abraham Darby is a David Austin rose. These “English roses” are crosses between various old garden roses and modern roses. The result is the repeat blooming of modern roses combined with the wonderful fragrance and form of old roses. And some of these are among the healthiest roses you’ll ever find, too. Although Abraham Darby is susceptible to blackspot, a fungal disease that is a problem in my area, some of the newer Austin roses are incredibly resistent to blackspot. I’ve had my eye on The Mayflower for some time now: lovely pink blooms with strong old rose fragrance on plants that are said to be completely resistant to blackspot, powdery mildew, and rust. If anyone out there has had experience with The Mayflower, I’d love to hear what you have to say about it.

One response to “Scent of Roses in the Air

  1. Beautiful flowers on his site. Hope you figure out the image uploading, would love to see your roses 😉

    Anita

Leave a Reply

